10 Female Celebs that can teach us about healthy living

We live in a society that is obsessed with celebrities. We follow every minute detail of their relationships, red carpet fashion, jet-setting and high-profile lifestyles.   In the past decade, some female celebs have been on a mission to use their fame to promote healthy goods and services.   They are gaining popularity and reaching a wide audience of women who are eager to adopt these clean habits. As someone who has been using wellness for my well-being for almost 20 years, I am excited to see new awareness and attention on practices such as yoga, meditation, and healthy eating. Here are 10 female celebs that are shining a light on things that make you feel good – and are good for you, too!

  1. Jessica Alba

F5424B7E-5DB2-4EE9-AE9F-E0D21AE6C009 Jessica Alba is known for being a green mom. In 2011, she stared The Honest Company to deliver healthy, safe, non-toxic bath, body & cleaning products. She grew this to a billion dollar company in 4 years.  On Today.com, Jessica shares this about her company: “I’ve been on a quest to create a healthy environment for my family and myself. But I also want our life to be authentic, stylish, and fun, because that’s who we are… It’s the reason I created The Honest Company, so we could all have a single, trustworthy destination for nontoxic household essentials that are also extremely effective (and super cute).”

  1. Gwyneth Paltrow

32330E01-CADB-4128-A260-0C0ACEAC2A2C Academy-award winning actress Gwyneth Paltrow launched GOOP in 2008 to share information and recommendations about health, fitness, and the psyche.  Following the success of the blog, she published two cook books:  “Notes From My Kitchen Table” and “It’s All Good.” Paltrow told Harper’s Bazaar U.K. that she almost quit doing GOOP because of all the criticism. “There were a couple of times when I thought, ‘I’m just gonna stop doing it. People are so mean to me. I don’t want to do it…But then I was like, ‘Who cares what some lame person out there says?’ I was in Italy once, and this old man came up to me and said, ‘I had the best time in Nashville because of Goop.’ And that is so worth it to me.”

  1. Alicia Silverstone

FEC3FB31-2D34-45FE-A6BB-ECC4831F592F Alicia Silverstone published “The Kind Diet” and launched the “The Kind Life” website in 2011 to promote a plant-based diet and a conservation attitude. Her approach to parenting includes no vaccines, no commercial diapers, and no meat for her kids. Alicia told The New Potato, “Eating “kind” is about being really, really good to yourself via the foods you put into your body. A plant-based diet filled with delicious whole foods (mother nature’s little miracles) will give you tons of energy, mental clarity, gorgeous skin and a zest for life. The bonus? This kindness also extends to the earth itself; a plant-based diet is much lighter on the planet.”

  1. Gisele Bündchen

B820A2A7-B639-4588-A2FB-0A4F75FFC8A3 Super-model Giselle launched an all-natural, eco-friendly skin care line called Sejaa in 2010 to protect your skin’s natural radiance while also protecting the health and beauty of the environment. Gisele told Vogue: “I wanted to teach girls to love themselves and take care of their bodies. What is the first thing you see every morning? Your face! What do you put every day on your face? Cream! I have made the simplest, purest cream — an everyday cream — but it comes with an affirmation…. be grateful you are here, alive and healthy. “

  1. Cameron Diaz

DBEDEDFF-9538-4D84-BD69-D3C3E445A2DF Cameron Diaz wrote #1 New York Times bestseller “The Body Book” in 2013 to share what she has learned about nutrition, exercise, and the mind/body connection. Cameron was motivated to write the book when she was 39 years old because she kept having conversations with girlfriends who were confused about their bodies.  In this LA Times interview, Cameron explains how her book is different from other self-help books: “We should all be experts in our own bodies and how they function. I want people to be happy and healthy and productive, and you can’t tell them how to do that. They have to learn it themselves, so it all comes back to giving them the basics of how the body functions and letting them figure it out from there. I don’t give a diet or fitness plan. I want people to learn critical thinking to figure out their own plan. Or to be able to look at another plan and understand what parts are right for them and how to adapt it to fit their own needs.”

  1. Carrie-Anne Moss

9ABD41A0-19E9-429F-9488-86E1799CC5F2 Last year, Carrie-Anne Moss, best known for her role of Trinity in The Matrix trilogy, launched Annapurna Living, a website that offers courses focused on meditation. It was her role as wife and mother that inspired her to create a community of women crafting lives that uplift each other. On her website, she says: “My desire is to live in a world where nourishment is valued. I believe a nourished family will lead to a nourished world. I believe life is beautiful and that our divine purpose in this world is to nurture the earth by respecting it and being grateful for what it provides us…My wish is to inspire others to create beautiful, honest and satisfying lives.”

  1. Arianna Huffington

33D4A823-A4AE-4447-B1D0-0DBD6EC89C36 After she woke up in a pool of her own blood, Arianna Huffington realized that it was time to re-define success and make a lifestyle change.   In 2014, she published the best-selling book  “Thrive” and followed it up with a digital course on Oprah.com in 2015 to teach practical ways to meditate, get more sleep, and create a digital detox plan. Arianna tells Darling Magazine: “Thrive was prompted by my painful wakeup call. … I had collapsed from exhaustion and lack of sleep. ..In terms of the traditional measures of success, which focus on money and power, I was very successful. But I was not living a successful life by any sane definition of success. I knew something had to radically change. I could not go on that way. The title of the book reflects my belief that our goal, as individuals and as a society, should be not just to succeed but to thrive.”

  1. Alanis Morissette

313D8636-F2A8-4D3F-A707-8A3D75A5D471 Alanis Morisette has been on a path of personal growth since her 1995 album, Jagged-little pill. She began a spiritual search to answer the big life questions such as “why am I here?” after she realized that material success did not cure her problems or her loneliness.   She studied with many teachers and used mediation, prayer and music to find happiness and balance. In a SoulSunday Oprah interview, Alanis says: “I think happiness is a state, and it’s a temporary state. So, if we’re chasing a temporary state, we’re setting ourselves up to fail.…[Emotions are] like boats to me, and my suffering is dependent upon how quickly I jump into the boat and follow that stream. But if I sit back and watch it, there’s some relief…I wouldn’t call it ‘happiness.’ I would call it ‘the bliss or the joy of consciousness.” If you want to try her approach to happiness, Alanis and friends are hosting a wellness workshop next month in Big Sur, California titled “Hurtling Toward Wholeness.”

9.  Michelle Obama

mobama30n-2-webMichelle Obama has been busy bringing wellness to the White House for the past seven years. In 2009, she planted a garden on the South Lawn and later wrote about her experience of growing fresh vegetables, fruit, and herbs in “American Grown.” The following year, she launched Let’s Move!, a nationwide initiative to make kids more active and bring healthier food into schools and communities. Michelle told ESPN that she lives a healthy life not only for herself, but also for her daughters:

“When I get up and work out, I’m working out just as much for my girls as I am for me, because I want them to see a mother who loves them dearly, who invests in them, but who also invests in herself. It’s just as much about letting them know as young women that it is ok to put yourself a little higher on your priority list.”

10. Eva Longoria

eva-langoria-wood-150x200Long before she was famous, Eva Longoria was a personal trainer. She received her degree in Kinesiology from Texas A&M and uses everything she’s learned to stay lean and toned. She is also co-founder of Eva’s Heroes which is an organization dedicated to enriching the lives of young adults with special needs. She recognizes the importance of not only being physically fit but also having a healthy outlook.  She told Health Magazine:

“I love self-help, anything that’s going to move you forward in life… People think health only has to do with your physical being, but for me, it’s so much more. I remember after my divorce, I was so thin and everyone kept saying how great I looked and it was probably the most unhealthy place I’ve ever been. …[But now] I have a great diet and exercise routine. And I try to have a healthy outlook. I’m your everlasting, hopeless optimist!”

Did I miss one of your favorite female health gurus? Tweet your picks to me @GabrielleTV.

Leave a Reply

